Science Fiction Fantasy  
Go Back   Science Fiction Fantasy Chronicles: forums > Books and Writing > Authors > H P Lovecraft

H P Lovecraft Lovecraft, the Cthulhu Mythos, and writers who continued the tradition.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 30th October 2006, 07:38 AM   #1 (permalink)

Complete collection?

I'm new to Lovecraft and was just wondering if there is a collection of his complete works available. Would be nice to have all of his stories in the one place...
fifteenjugglers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2006, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)

Re: Complete collection?

No, no single book collects together all his stories, though they can be found on the net (except for a few slighter things and some of the revisions -- which were frequently entirely by HPL, but were ghost-written for someone else). However, Penguin in tpb has brought out really nice editions of all his work except for the revisions, and they are easily available. For everything, you'd need to go to Arkham House, and there's a 4-volume set that collects all of his fiction save for his prose-poems and some scattered non-weird work, which is collected in his Miscellaneous Writings. But, if you wish to read his work, here's a site that you might want to look at:

the Complete works of H. P. Lovecraft

And, just in case you're interested in pursuing the ones mentioned above:

Penguin:

The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories
The Thing on the Doorstep and Other Weird Stories
The Dreams in the Witch House and Other Weird Stories

Arkham House:

Dagon and Other Macabre Tales
At the Mountains of Madness and Other Novels
The Dunwich Horror and Others
The Horror in the Museum and Other Revisions

These use the authoritative texts (earlier editions often had very corrupt texts), and are edited by S. T. Joshi, the leading Lovecraftian scholar.
j. d. worthington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2006, 08:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Cat