| |
|
| |||||||
| Stargate General Discussions This section is for all your stargate questions, comments and suggestions that do not fit into another category. Please mark spoliers with an appropriate warning. |
![]() |
| | Thread Tools |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Trivia Goddess Join Date: Sep 2000 Location: topeka, ks, usa- 7 1/2 hours due east of Cheyenne Mountain
Posts: 2,856
| apparantly tripod has decided to clean house and are deleteing sites that don't meet their rules...this was posted on the cj list and i'm copying it here...i guess if any of you have sites or know anyone who does you might wanna warn them their stuff is in danger of disappearing...the sg1 angst page is already gone. DATE: Sat, 17 Mar 2001 13:48:58 From: Rauhnee Ranshanka <gatekat@swatkats.net> To: _GateKat_Update <GateKat_Update@yahoogroups.com> Apologies for the crosspost and possibly OT post, but this is probably important to at least some members here. Tripod is deleting fansites of all kinds (slash, het, gen, fanfic, fanart, clean and adult), even sites that only have links to them, without warning. A lot are already gone, the rest are likely to follow. Angelfire is also owned by the parent company, so those sites are likely in danger as well. If your site is already gone, you may be able to retrieve lost pages from Google's cache, go to Google and search for your site and then click on the Cache link. But you gotta work fast before Google updates their cache. Other companies that are owned by Lycos (the parent company named) Tripod Lycos Communications Angelfire Quote.com Whowhere? Lycos Gamesville Hot Bot Hot Wired html GEAR Sonique Media Player webmonkey Wired News Matchmaker -- Rauhnee if it ain't one thing....it's another ![]() |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Bruce Campbell love slave Join Date: Mar 2001 Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 370
| From what I hear on another board, it isn't only fansites that are being deleted. Apparently some sites are simply personal sites such as a guy that had information regarding artwork that he does on vans...also a site regarding individuals with disabilites is gone....<shrug> You would think that they would at least give everyone a chance to move their pages before they removed them. If I was a paying customer, I would think twice about keeping my site with a company that would just suddenly pull something like this with no warning, with a generic "violation of terms of service" reason given. But that's just MHO.... |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Trivia Goddess Join Date: Sep 2000 Location: topeka, ks, usa- 7 1/2 hours due east of Cheyenne Mountain
Posts: 2,856
| i agree with you there. they certainly have the right to refuse service to anyone but...heck the least they coulda done was send the 'offenders' notice and told them to remove their stuff by the end of the month or something...i'm sure some folks have irrevokably lost hours & hours of work...that's the rude part.:angryfire |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| System Lord of ASciFi.com Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,812
| good suggestion about googles cache, the amount of times i use that for dead links! yeah crazy they are just deleting things, i wonder what their criteria are or more interestingly why. I think it might be the start of free hosting not being profitable with the advertising slump. Expect to see something about this at fuckedcompany.com i would think. |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Apophis' First Prime Join Date: Oct 2000 Location: Chulak
Posts: 562
| kel sha, why to hell are they allowed to do this ???? on this sites there aren't illegal things like warez, gamez and appz -- so what right do they have to delete this sites ?? have they posted any reasons why they do that ? seems to be we have to create a NO TRIPOD banner :angryfire kree sha |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| System Lord of ASciFi.com Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,812
| if the sites are against their terms and conditions they have every right to delete them, in fact they could delete them even if they wern't against their terms and conditions. The argument is not really that they have been deleted but that people wern't given *any* warning that they would be deleted. This is what sucks about it. |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| Bruce Campbell love slave Join Date: Mar 2001 Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 370
| Now I'm hearing reports that this whole fiasco has been cause by a little bug that Tripod is trying to fix to restore the missing sites....who knows what's going on <shrug> Of course, it could also be Tripod trying to cover it's butt. |
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| Trivia Goddess Join Date: Sep 2000 Location: topeka, ks, usa- 7 1/2 hours due east of Cheyenne Mountain
Posts: 2,856
| tripod is now saying it was one giant oops and they're working to fix it. anyone who wants further info, this contact info was posted on one of the lists... dunno anything about it, haven't tried it but here ya go forwarded message- As listmom for another list (sentinelangst), I did my listmom duties and got some information from Tripod, which is as follows: I called and got a message that "due to technical problems over the weekend, some tripod member sites were removed for terms of service violations. Please be aware that tripod is working to correct this problem and restore those sites." Registered Copyright Agent The Lycos Network 400-2 Totten Pond Road Waltham, MA 02451 Telephone: (781) 434-3020 Facsimile: (781) 370-2886 Email Address: copyright@lycos-inc.com |
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| Peaceful Explorer Join Date: Sep 2000 Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 1,327
| I don't quite understand the whole thing. I'm a co-writter of the biggest czech stargate site and we have there also links to some tripod sites. So... could be our site deleted for that or what?! If I only want to post the link to some intersting site or inform that in some site is something interesting, must I ask first? I only wanna inform not download the stuff from sites. |
| | |
| | #13 (permalink) | |
| Red Pixie Boot Wearer Join Date: Mar 2001 Location: North West UK
Posts: 4,596
| Quote:
I agree with PAdders... ascifi.net is a very good host my friend has his site on there. www.ds9command.co.uk | |
| | |
|
| About | Link To Us | For Writers | For Publishers | Privacy | Terms of Use | Copyright | Press | XML/RSS | Contact Us © Copyright Science Fiction Fantasy Chronicles 2003-2008 |